Arctic Monkeys

Tags: indie , indie rock , british
Arctic Monkeys are an 'alternative rock' band formed in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England in 2002 after meeting at Stocksbridge High School. The band consists of 'Alex Turner' (vocals, guitar), 'Jamie 'Cookie' Cook' (guitar), ...Read More
Arctic Monkeys are an 'alternative rock' band formed in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England in 2002 after meeting at Stocksbridge High School. The band consists of 'Alex Turner' (vocals, guitar), 'Jamie 'Cookie' Cook' (guitar), 'Nick O'Malley' (bass) and 'Matt Helders' (drums, vocals). Founding bassist 'Andy Nicholson' left in 2006.

Each of the band's first five singles 'I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor', 'When the Sun Goes Down', 'Leave Before The Lights Come On', 'Brianstorm' and 'Fluorescent Adolescent' hit the UK Top Five, but their sixth single, 'Teddy Picker', only went Top 20 and their seventh single, 'Crying Lightning' peaked at #12.

The band's rise to success started in late 2004/early 2005 when demo songs which had been handed out in CD form at gigs found their way onto the internet. These demos rapidly spread among message boards and friends leading to a growing fan base for the band, and were collected on the unofficial 'Beneath the Boardwalk', which the band recognizes on their website. The band owe much of their success to viral buzz via the Internet, and have eschewed typical 'commercial' channels, including refusing to appear on the UK's (now discontinued) Top Of The Pops music program, which was often seen as a gateway to success.

The band's debut album, 'Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not', held the record for the largest first week sales of a debut album in the UK (in its first week, it sold more than the rest of the Top 20 albums combined). The album sold over 360,000 copies in its first week, but lost the title in November 2007 to 'Leona Lewis''s album 'Spirit.'

On 19th June 2006 the band officially announced that founding member Andy Nicholson had left the band after missing the American leg of their tour due to 'fatigue' and the other band members couldn't stand the constant 'missing his girlfriend syndrome' so told him to sling his hook. Former 'Dodgems' bassist, Nick O'Malley was initially brought in as a stand-in, and played the band's remaining summer commitments. He was then announced as Nicholson's permanent replacement.

The single 'Leave Before The Lights Come On' came out on August 14th, but only reached Number 4 on the UK charts, denying the band a third consecutive number 1 single.

Their debut album "'Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not'" won the 2006 Mercury Prize, was chosen as the best album of year 2006 by Q Magazine, and received a slew of other accolades.

Their second album 'Favourite Worst Nightmare' was released on April 23rd 2007. It was preceded by "'Brianstorm'", the first single from the album, which was released a week before. Like its predecessor, "'Favourite Worst Nightmare'" sold more than the rest of the Top 20 combined, and - due to an error on iTunes - every song on the record appeared on the UK Top 200 Singles the next week.

When asked about 'Favourite Worst Nightmare' Alex Turner commented, "We haven't changed that much. It's still about making contact with girls or not making contact with girls".

The band began to write and record demos for the third album in January 2008, Turner said "We had tunes that we'd already been playing on tour so we recorded them. That’s six [songs]. We’re going to take it easy and start practicing over the summer and doing new stuff."

The band premiered new material from the unreleased album during their January 2009 tour of New Zealand, playing small venues in Wellington and Auckland ahead of the Big Day Out festival. Their first show in more than a year was on January 13, 2009 at Wellington's Town Hall. In both cities, the new songs played were "'Crying Lightning'", "'Go-Kart'", "'Dangerous Animals'" and "'Pretty Visitors'." The full set list from the Auckland gig is available online. Also played was a cover of the 'Nick Cave' song "'Red Right Hand'." During their last tour, the band had played new songs "'Put Me In A Terror Pocket'", "'Sandtrap'," and "'The Fire And The Thud'" live.

Lead singer/songwriter Alex Turner started a two-man project with the singer from the Rascals, Miles Kane.
The band is called ''The Last Shadow Puppets''

The band released their new album 'Humbug' in August of 2009, preceded by the single " 'Crying Lightning'"

They released their fourth studio album, entitled Suck It And See on June 6th 2011

User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License and may also be available under the GNU FDL.
bystolic manufacturer coupon bystolic free trial coupon coupon for bystolic
bystolic manufacturer coupon bystolic coupon 2013 generic bystolic
pet prescription discount card coupon prescription coupon prescription
how effective is viagra cheap viagra
buy generic cialis discount card for cialis cialis price us
free discount prescription cards drug coupon
aidasol aida angebote
losartankalium bivirkninger losartan losartankalium teva 50 mg
cialis erfahrungen click cialis bestellen
cialis cvs coupon cialis cvs coupon
flibanserin buy online link flibanserin buy online
suprax supra x 125
flagyl flagyl ovule flagyl injectable
motilium et grossesse motilium eureka coupons discount coupons for prescriptions coupon for cialis
duloxetin droge duloxetin vs venlafaxin duloxetin dosering
...Read Less

Live Dates:

Arctic Monkeys Live Tour

Not playing any listed Festivals in 2016. Please check back


Data on this page has been provided by, &